Skip to content
January 24, 2011 / veganfavorites

Better Buttery Spread

Say that five times fast!

When I went vegan I wanted to know what could possibly replace my animal laden butter?!  Of course my always savvy co-blogger had the perfect answer for that! It’s Earth Balance of course!  I use the buttery sticks in baking all the time, and my fridge is never without a tub of their spread. I usually go for the original, sometimes I get the soy free, but I know whichever I choose it will be delicious!

Earth Balance Buttery Spread with Nutritional info.

I think I single handedly kept them in business when I was pregnant. I basically only ate toast with Earth balance for the first 4 months!  While I now eat a more balanced diet, I’ll always hold a special place in my fridge for the favorite that got me through that time in my life!

Here  is a yummy recipe I make that earth balance works perfectly for:

I did an easy veganization of the cinnamon roll dough from pastry chef Christina Tosi at Momofuku Milk Bar in NYC.

For the dough
2½ tsp. dry active yeast
¾ c. warm water
1½ c. warm milk (I use the so delicious coconut milk)
6 c. bread flour (I use all- purpose) which makes it a bit less bread- like, but I thought the result was good.
2 tbsp. salt
1 c. sugar (I used vegan florida crystals)
2 tbsp. butter, at room temperature (Earth Balance, of course!)

1. Dissolve yeast in warm water and milk.

2. Knead in dry ingredients. Add butter. Let rise for 45 minutes.

3. After the 45-minute rise, roll out dough into a long rectangle and spread Earth Balance over its surface. Sprinkle it with a generous amount of sugar, and cinnamon. If you want to you can add some brown sugar to the mix as well.

Roll up the rectangle into a long cylinder. Cut into fourteen, 2-inch pieces. Place in a greased 9-by-13-inch pan or two 10-inch pie pans and cover with plastic. Let rise another 45 minutes before baking 12-22 minutes at 375°.

Or you could roll the long cylinder into a spiral form in an 10″ baking pan or split it and put it into two smaller 6″ baking pans and make giant cinnamon rolls, like I did here:

Unfrosted cinnamon roll from 6" pan

For the frosting:

I did a simple sugar/milk glaze for this roll. I start with one cup of soy or coconut milk (I find the thicker subs work better). Then I whisk in powdered sugar (vegan of course) until I get a thick, but pourable consistency. I added a dash of cinnamon and vanilla as well, but you can just keep it simple. Then just spread it on the roll when it has cooled a bit.

Frosted

I cut this into six pieces, but you might find it hard to share!

 

-Shelley

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Jan 30 2011 1:10 pm

    That cinnamon roll looks so good! And I love baking with Earth Balance and So Delicious coconut milk. The EB makes everything buttery good, and the SD gives everything such a wonderful texture.

Trackbacks

  1. Sweetness from the sunshine state! « Vegan Favorites
  2. Spread it on Thick « Vegan Favorites
  3. Giveaway Galore! « Vegan Favorites
  4. Corny Crunches « Vegan Favorites
  5. Zen and the Art of Breakfast « Vegan Favorites
  6. More Morning Sweets! « Vegan Favorites
  7. Easy Holiday Entertaining « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

