Skip to content
January 20, 2011 / veganfavorites

Get Baking

I love baking. I do it whenever I can, and I’m always try to make up my own recipes.  People are surprised when they find out the baked goods they just devoured are vegan and always ask how they can do it themselves.  One of the big helpers in vegan baking is egg replacer. There are many things that can take the place of eggs in a recipe, but usually when first veganizing a recipe, egg replacer is a good place to start (it’s especially good for cookies and bars).  I have tried both brands of this magic ingredient, but hands down my favorite is: Ener-G Egg Replacer.

Ener-G Egg Replacer

It’s easy to whip up and insert into your recipe. I find it easy to get it to it’s light, airy and frothy consistency by hand, and does not have any deviating flavor.  Here is a recipe I came up with that will help keep your insides warm on a cold winter day like we are having on the east coast right now:

Easy Mexican Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of oil (I like canola, vegetable will be good too)

1/8 cup unsweetened powdered cocoa

1/3 cup bittersweet/dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup of sugar

3/4 cup of Dagoba xocolatl Hot Chocolate Mix

1 tsp. vanilla

3 tsp. Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 4 tablespoons of water

2/3 cup all purpose flour

pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. grease 8×8 pan with earth balance (or you can use a spray)

Mix the wet ingredients together. Melt the bittersweet chocolate in a double boiler or in the microwave by stopping it and stirring every 15 seconds until melted. Add chocolate to wet ingredients stir gently. Add the sugar to the chocolate mixture and mix well. Then fold in the flour and salt.  Pour into the pan and bake at 350 until a toothpick comes out clean (about 20 minutes). Time will vary depending on your oven and the material of the pan you use.

I used the Dagoba because I had it on hand. I like the mixture they have, and makes the recipe easier.  You can always make your own chocolate, cinnamon and chipotle mix if you are so inclined.

I’m trying to get better at writing recipes as we go on. If you have questions, let me know.

-Shelley

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. siouxzy13 / Jan 20 2011 9:54 pm

    Mmmmmmm these brownies sound fabulous!! I’ve never tried my hand at vegan baking, mostly due to the egg substitute issue. Thanks for clearing that up for me!

  2. Nicola Heseltine / May 26 2011 7:48 am

    Have you ever used Ener-g as an egg white replacer. I used it the other day but have a feeling I didn’t whisk it enough, it got frothy but not very fluffy! I know it doesn’t get stiff like regular egg whites when mixed with icing sugar but I just wondered whether you’d had any experience with this before please?

    • veganfavorites / May 26 2011 8:08 am

      It’s not really meant to be an egg white replacer. I find it’s best used in small quantities for cookies and bars. If your looking to make a vegan royal icing you can find recipes in a couple of Isa Chandra Maskowitz’s cookie and cupcake books and also in Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

