Skip to content
January 23, 2011 / veganfavorites

Color Me Vegan

I wish the title of this post was a neat little phrase I coined and that I said sometimes. Like if left speechless by someone’s actions I would just swoon, hand to forehead, and in a Southern drawl of course, say, “Well, color me vegan!”   And, while that would be awesome, and still something I might try, it is actually the title of today’s vegan favorite: Color Me Vegan is Colleen Patrick Goudreau’s latest cookbook!  All of her books are fantastic, but this one is so cool because the recipes are grouped by the color of the foods, with emphasis on the nutrition found in each shade of the rainbow.  Great idea, right? I always enjoy cooking Colleen’s recipes because they are easy to follow and lip-smackingly delicious, but even better is when your friend decides to have you over to make you an “orange” meal.  I have the bomb friends, people.  So, in the interest of keeping with this blog’s theme, and also because I am slightly hungover from all the wine with dinner (hehe) I will simply pick my favorite dish from the night, the peach salsa:

"Peach or Nectarine Salsa" from CMV, p. 50

Even though jarred peaches had to be used due to it still being January (will it never end?!?) the jalapeno, ginger, and red onion really woke this up and made it oh-so-tasty. It was a mouth-watering blend of sweet and heat… and  the perfect appetizer to our orange-themed meal. Carotenoids, check!  Even better?  I got leftovers in my fridge. Woo-hoo.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone.  I’ll be posting the entire meal over at EWWO at some point today or tomorrow, but you should really just get the book and get cooking already.  There are even some sample recipes up HERE.  Do it… and have fun finding your own favorite!

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. I Challenge You! « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

