Skip to content
January 25, 2011 / veganfavorites

Sublime Sausage (and some soup!)

Faux sausage is one of those meat analogs that most omnivores generally like because it’s all about the spices.  You get the right combo of salty and savory and sweet, and you can make a chunk of wood taste like sausage.  That being said, it’s only in the relatively recent past that a brand has paired incredibly developed flavor with a perfectly chewy texture to create the best (or at least MY favorite) vegan sausage: Field Roast.

All three yummy varieties 🙂

Field Roast Sausages come in three varieties; Italian, Mexican Chipotle, and Smoked Apple Sage.  I’ve tried and loved them all, but my hands down fave is the Smoked Apple Sage.  These links are made of the same wheat-meat base from which all FR products are created, but this version has the addition of granny smith apples, yukon gold potatoes, sage, ginger, and other spices.  I can’t even tell you how flavorful they are.  Perfect with some sauerkraut and mustard on a roll, cooked up with fennel and cabbage, or in my newest tasty “recipe”:

My personal soup sensation!

Basically you cut up a link and brown it in a tiny bit of oil (you really don’t need much).  At the same time, heat up some Imagine Organic Creamy Harvest Corn Soup.  When the soup is hot and sausage is browned, combine them in the soup pot and add fistfuls of spinach.  Once the spinach wilts down, eat!  This is such a fast dinner and so delicious.

You need to try these right now.  Go get ’em and let us know what you think.  Do you have your own favorite faux meat?

-Sky

8 Comments

  1. Joan Grealis / Jan 25 2011 1:54 pm

    These are the best. Stuff mushrooms with them and top with daiya cheese and marina sauce. Yum!

  2. Carey Okrand / Jan 25 2011 2:29 pm

    Phony meat = ridiculous

  3. veganfavorites / Jan 25 2011 4:34 pm

    You’re right Carey! Ridiculously tasty and ridiculously good for you and the planet! Right on!

  4. veganfavorites / Jan 25 2011 5:10 pm

    Carey, I agree that most vegans consume way too much “phony” meat and that it can have its own detrimental effects on the body and the planet. However, alternative meats are EXCELLENT transition foods, and much more compassionate choices for sure! My personal intake is probably once or twice a week, max, but for the light-hearted purposes of this blog, I thought it important to name my fave. I’m sorry if you think it is an irresponsible move, but I respectfully disagree.

  5. Suzy Vincent / Jan 26 2011 7:03 pm

    I’m not a big fan/user of vegan faux meats, but this soup looks awesome and I love wilted spinach! Also Joan’s idea of “Field Roast” stuff mushrooms with marinara and Daiya is making me wish my diet detox were done (only 9 days left!) Thanks, Sky 🙂

    • veganfavorites / Jan 26 2011 11:49 pm

      You’re welcome! (And I have it on strict authority that the idea for mushroom stuffing was actual Gary’s. Shhhh…. lol) Enjoy the last 9 days of detox!

Trackbacks

  1. Fantastic Frankfurters « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

