Skip to content
January 27, 2011 / veganfavorites

The Amazing, Awesome, Artichoke!

I love artichokes.  I love them steamed, fried, stuffed, on salads, in soups….  you get the picture.  And, while foodies would have you believe that it’s a breeze to peel and cook one all by yourself, I’ve seen enough Chopped episodes in which real chefs accidentally feed others (judges no less!) inedible portions, to play it safe.  In the past this has meant ordering them at restaurants and using canned or jarred versions at home.  But now my world has been totally revolutionized.  Enter Monterey Farms Artichokes!

It doesn’t get any better than that right there.

They take the freshest artichokes, prepare them (4 different varieties!), and vacuum seal them for easy enjoyment.  The simply grilled ones in the picture are my favorite.  They have just the right amount of char and they taste like smokey, buttery (yes that is an acceptable vegan term), velvety heaven.  I love them on salads.  My second fave variety is the buffalo, which are cooked to spicy perfection.  I prefer those straight out of the bag and dipped in some vegan ranch dressing.

My name is Sky and I’m an artichoke addict.  Get yourself some of these hearts and you’ll soon out yourself as one too, my friends.  There is no shame!  Only deliciousness!!!

-Sky

PS- Did you know artichokes are also super good for you?  They are.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Suzy Vincent / Jan 27 2011 3:23 pm

    My name is Suzy and I’m a Veganfavorites addict! Thank you for such a great blog, and in particular for the artichoke 411. Now if only they’re available in Georgia…

  2. Jenne / Feb 3 2011 2:34 pm

    I must find these! I too am an arti attack!

Leave a Reply

