Skip to content
January 28, 2011 / veganfavorites

Mix it up!

When I went vegan I was thinking how am I possibly going to get everything I need in my diet when I’m short on time? No time to cook, prep or shop that often, and especially now with a baby, time is non-existent in my life. The big purchase I made that helped with all of that? A Vitamix!

Vitamix 5200

It really is the workhorse of the kitchen. I use it to make many sauces, soups and smoothies. It is great to make things ahead of time and freeze it for the next couple of weeks. It pulverizes everything into submission when needed and can even cook your soups while blending. It’s amazing! I realize it’s very expensive but I think it’s worth it and can be your only small appliance in the kitchen if necessary.  Two of my favorite things I make in the Vitamix are:

The Mac n’ Cheese recipe from VegNews magazine, and a yummy smoothie that is not only delicious but good for you.

Try it:

I start with one cup of water at the bottom of the mixer, then I fill it about halfway with Kale (sub green of your choice). Add a fresh banana and about 5 chunks of frozen pineapple. Blend it until smooth, and enjoy!

I suggest signing up for Vitamix emails. They will send alerts to sales and refurbished deals. I think the refurbished are the least expensive way to get a (new) mixer and it is how I got mine!

-Shelley

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Banana Safety 101 « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

