Skip to content
January 30, 2011 / veganfavorites

Vegan Pizza Day!

As most vegans know, yesterday was vegan pizza day. In honor of vegan pizza day I made pizza at home. We do it often and have a variety of favorites that we make. I always use a variety of roasted veggies, greens and top it all off with today’s favorite: Daiya!

Daiya Mozzarella and Cheddar style shreds

 

I love that it is soy free and, of course, delicious!  I just wish that someone would deliver pizza to my house that was made with Daiya.

My pizza last night was delicious, it had roasted butternut squash and cauliflower  with mashed potatoes on olive oil and garlic, topped with today’s favorite, then after being cooked I threw a whole bunch of arugula on top and some balsamic vinaigrette.  Sounds weird?  It’s SO good, so much so that I didn’t get a picture, it was gone so fast!

Leave a comment telling us how you celebrated vegan pizza day!

 

-Shelley

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. veganfavorites / Jan 30 2011 12:09 pm

    I totally failed at Vegan Pizza Day! Went to California Pizza Kitchen with the intention of getting a cheeseless, veggie-covered thin crust (the only vegan crust at CPK) but then I got soup and salad instead. What can I say? It was a soup kind of night! I’ll make up for it soon, no doubt. 🙂 -Sky

  2. Suzy / Jan 30 2011 4:22 pm

    Unfortunately I celebrated Vegan Pizza Day enjoying Day 15 of my 21-day liquid detox diet, which by the way is totally vegan (at least the way I do it), very satisfying and effective. This is the second year I’ve done it in January, but next year I may have to rearrange the detox around Vegan Pizza Day! Better yet, I’ll just make a point of having/making vegan pizza more often.

    Shelly, is pizza dough inherently vegan? Do you make your own, and if so could you share the recipe?

    • veganfavorites / Jan 30 2011 5:30 pm

      I find the Whole Foods and Trader Joes are vegan and good. Some other grocery stores also have vegan dough, but I like the others the best. You can make your own most recipes are just flour water yeast (sugar) and olive oil/ or earth balance and salt. I do not have a recipe, but I love the recipe resource vegweb.com (It will be one of my future favorites).

Trackbacks

  1. No Moo for You! « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

