Skip to content
February 2, 2011 / veganfavorites

Hemp Gets You High… On Nutrition!

There are a plethora of non-dairy milks out there these days – from soy to rice to oat to almond and beyond – but there is one that I keep coming back to.  My fave?  Hemp Milk.

Breakfast Bliss

In particular I like the Unsweetened Original Hemp Bliss by Manitoba Harvest.  Not only is it one of the only organic hemp milks on the market, it is also free of sweeteners so you get the true nutty taste of the hemp seed.  Even better?  The hemp seeds from which this milk is made are so amazingly good for you!  They’re full of omegas and amino acids and, well, just see for yourself.  Other milks don’t even come close. Plus, it’s awesome for cereal-soaking (that’s my morning dose, above), baking, cookie-dunking… you name it!

You may think you have a favorite vegan milk (I LOVED almond before trying hemp) but I really think you should give mine a try.  Let me know what you think!

-Sky

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Suzy Vincent / Feb 2 2011 4:48 pm

    Sounds delish! I’ve never been entirely happy with rice or soy milk, never tried almond milk but now I think I’ll skip that and go straight to hemp, if for no other reason than to raise the eyebrows of co-workers browsing our office’s fridge 😉 Also I saw on the Manitoba Harvest web site there’s a hemp butter that looks interesting… and HALLELUJAH, my Metro Atlanta health food stores and co-ops carry this stuff!

  2. veganfavorites / Feb 2 2011 5:45 pm

    Oh man. Hemp Butter. Don’t even get me started. Sooo good and good for you. However, I have a new fave nut butter these days. For a future post… 😉

  3. Tenneh / May 23 2011 12:36 pm

    I finally tried Hemp Milk, altough not the brand that you mentioned in your post. It was plain, but was sweetened. Unfortunately I did not enjoy it. It tasted exactly like how I picture hemp to taste (when I think of hemp I think of hemp bracelets). The milk had a straw/hay-like taste to it. I guess it would be okay in a recipe, but not in my cereal or straight up.

    So my favorite continutes to be sweetened vanilla soy milk. I did recently try a sweetened vanilla coconut milk, which is also satisfying to drink straight up.

Leave a Reply

