Skip to content
February 3, 2011 / veganfavorites

Oh the Joy!

What’s the best thing to do when home on a snow day?  Bake from the Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau of course! We have had, what seems like, constant snow here in the Boston area and since my husband and I both had a snow day yesterday, I decided to take advantage and bake some yummy treats from this favorite of mine.  I had just made the carrot cake recipe a few days ago for a friends birthday, and I won over many non-vegans with that one!  Yesterday however, I went with my standby favorite: Banana muffins!  I have made this recipe too many times to count.  I made some plain (husbands request) and some with chocolate chips. They are delicious!

 

Banana Muffins from Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

I used whole wheat flour and I add a dash of cinnamon to the plain ones, but otherwise I follow this recipe to the T.  I made a double batch hoping to freeze half for next week, but I was informed by my husband that they won’t last the weekend! Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to make more! I would give you the recipe, but it’s copyrighted, and I think you guys should all go buy the book if you haven’t already. It has SO many yummy recipes it’ll get you through any craving you may have!

Happy baking!

-Shelley

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tenneh / Feb 11 2011 9:19 am

    I just requested this cookbook and “The Vegan Table” to prepare for my “Go Vegan Week.” I’m acutally pretty excited. I just wish it wasn’t so expensive to eat healthy, and I also wish I had more vegan restaurant options here in central Jersey. I think those are two factors that would keep me from going Vegan permanently.

    • veganfavorites / Feb 11 2011 9:51 am

      I applaud your effort in trying veganism! I always find myself annoyed with the fact that it is cheaper to eat processed foods than fresh. I really think produce should have coupons too! Anyway I wanted to suggest Trader Joes. Do you have one near you? They always have reasonably priced produce and vegan items to stock up on. Here are some good online resources to find veg friendly restaurants and food stores: http://www.vegdining.com/ and http://www.happycow.net/north_america/usa/new_jersey/. Also a good resource for inexpensive produce would be an Asian market. I know in our area we have one that has a ton of good fruit and veggies at great prices. Also look at our vegnews entry and go to the savvy vegan blog on that site. Good inexpensive vegan living tips can be found there as well. They also have a great vegan recipe resource http://vegweb.com I hope this info helps, and maybe it will become a more permanent choice! If you need anymore help, let us know. My partner in crime here is from Jersey originally, so maybe she can give you more tips! -Shelley

  2. veganfavorites / Feb 11 2011 11:12 am

    Go Tenneh! You can do it! It is really really possible to do vegan on a shoestring budget. Think bulk for items like beans and flours and use Shelley’s tips for getting cheaper produce. And remember, any move you make toward this lifestyle is better for you, the planet, and the animals!

  3. Tenneh / Feb 11 2011 12:08 pm

    Thanks guys! Shelly, I actually went to school (elementary and high school..I think) with your “partner in crime.” I’ve been reading her blog for a year or so now, and I credit her blog for making me more aware of the vegan lifestyle. And I’ve been following this blog from the start, which I was very exicted about because you guys post new entries almost everyday! There is a Trader Joe’s on my way home from work, and I have an Asian Food Market less than five minutes from my house, so that is pretty convenient. I’ll have to check out the other websites when I get home (they block us from food and restaurant sites at work). Thanks again for the info and words of encouragement.

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday Bonanza « Vegan Favorites
  2. I Challenge You! « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

