Skip to content
February 13, 2011 / veganfavorites

Protect Yourself

For Valentines Day we always think about chocolate here on vegan favorites. I knew when I went vegan to always check for animal ingredients in my chocolate. No biggie. However, never in a million years was I thinking that I would have to check the ingredients in my brand of condom! What could be un-vegan about latex? Well, let me enlighten you…Companies use casein (a protein derived from milk) when processing condoms. That’s not even taking into consideration animal testing that goes on with companies as well. What casein has to do with latex, I don’t know, but it makes regular condoms a no-no. So what’s a girl/guy to do? You could turn to the Vegan Society’s contraceptives page. It lists vegan friendly condoms, some of which they certify with their own logo. Well, lucky for me, my condom of choice is on that list!

Durex Avanti Polyurethane Condoms

I was never a fan of latex condoms, and it wasn’t until I decided not to have another baby that I even had to think about it.  Lucky for me I found these, because it wasn’t until recently that I knew I needed to worry about condoms being vegan. Hopefully now everyone knows! I’m just hoping that when you need to protect yourself you do it in the kindest way possible!

Happy Valentines Day!

-Shelley

Leave a Reply

