Skip to content
February 18, 2011 / veganfavorites

Eating to Live

In recent posts, you’ve come to know my chocolate and restaurant loving self.  But I’d like to introduce you to the real me.  Truth is, I’m a health nut.  Yes, this means you can find me at the gym most mornings, but it also applies to my food.  I am definitely an “everything in moderation” (so long as it’s vegan) type gal, but for the most part, I eat mighty healthfully, and have for years now.  You see, I was vegan a long time and still not feeling as alive and energetic as I wanted.  So I started doing some research.  The book that changed everything?  Eat to Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman.

This book could change your life!

Veganism is so often focussed on what you DON’T eat, but if you care about yourself as much as you care about the animals you are saving, you really should consider what you DO eat.  Those who follow Fuhrman’s plan are “nutritarians” because they eat for nutrient density. Gram for gram, spinach has way more nutrients than soy cheese pizza, as you might have guessed, and beans are way better than fake chicken nuggets.  Those ANDI scores you see all over Whole Foods these days?  Dr. Fuhrman’s idea.  The man is a genius and I can’t recommend his books more strongly.  If you really want to take control of your health, he can get you to the promised land.  Who knows – you may get really serious about it and go on one of his awesome retreats like I did.

Raspberries, mangoes, and hemp seeds. Oh my!

That’s a typical breakfast in my house.  Fruit, hemp seeds, spinach.   For a more detailed look at a typical day in the life of a nutritarian, check out this old post I wrote on EWWO… and then eat those veggies!

-Sky

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. veganfavorites / Feb 18 2011 11:55 am

    I need to get this book!
    -Shelley

  2. veganfavorites / Feb 18 2011 12:02 pm

    I really think i need the one for kids. gotta feed M right! -Shelley

  3. Joan Grealis / Feb 25 2011 9:02 pm

    Dr Fuhrman is the real deal folks-heavily researched and patient tested-he can get you and keep you well! Read it-you have nothing to lose but the SAD (Standard American Diet)!

Leave a Reply

