Skip to content
February 21, 2011 / veganfavorites

Double Duty

I would describe myself as frugal. I also like to use as few chemicals as possible in my daily routines.  My favorite things today are items that help me accomplish both of these things. I use a lot of household kitchen items to accomplish other tasks in my house.

Olive oil, apple cider vinegar and baking soda do double duty in my house for a myriad of things. Why not put them to use in your house?

 

Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar

The no shampoo craze came to light a couple of years ago. I have really curly hair, so I already didn’t wash my hair everyday, it really responds better. I decided I’d try it, it would save money and help my hair, why not? It involves using baking soda to wash your hair and then apple cider vinegar to condition it. I was skeptical about the vinegar because I use a lot of conditioner just to get my finger through my hair, but I was pleasantly surprised! I do it twice a week and my hair is healthier for it. I occasionally use a dollop of conditioner if I don’t want to smell the vinegar, but I find my gigantic bottle of apple cider vinegar for 89 cents and my box of baking soda for the same amount last me a long time.

Baking soda and white vinegar have long been known as good cleaners for your house (not mixed together of course). But did you know olive oil is good for that too? Not only does it make your food delicious, but it can help make your appliances shine! Use a TINY bit of olive oil on a cloth and use it to take fingerprints off stainless steel appliances. It works great! You can also use olive oil to moisturize your skin in these harsh winter months. So clean your fingerprints and soften your skin at once. Double duty indeed!  What household staple does double duty in your house?

-Shelley

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tenneh / Feb 21 2011 8:06 pm

    I’d like to get more details about how you wash and condition your hair with the products mentioned. I have curly hair, which has gotten super thin in the last couple of years, and I’ve been switching products like crazy. Right now I’m using DevaCurl products (they also encourage you not to wash your hair daily), but have not seen any changes in my hair. Thanks!

    • veganfavorites / Feb 22 2011 5:35 am

      Hi Tenneh, Here are some links that explain it all. I recommend starting to wash less now, it might make the transition easier. Also it can take time (months) to have your hair even out and find it’s new non-chemical groove.
      http://j.mp/ikBnlq

      Hopefully this helps. I haven’t used shampoo in years now, and I love it. My hair is less frizzy and feels healthier.
      Good luck, and let me know if you have any other questions.
      -Shelley

  2. Tenneh / Feb 21 2011 8:14 pm

    Baking soda and white vinegar can be useful together. Pour them down a sink to help clean out your pipes. Just follow up with some boiling water to make sure everything makes its way down the drain.

  3. Kim Neill / Feb 22 2011 10:11 pm

    I just wanted to add that vinegar and baking soda together is excellent for unclogging drains. It makes a wonderful fizzy and doesn’t damage pipes like harsh chemicals. No Drano in this house.

Trackbacks

  1. Knowledge is power! « Vegan Favorites
  2. Keepin’ it silky smooth and cruelty free « Vegan Favorites
  3. I Have Hair Too! « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

