Skip to content
February 22, 2011 / veganfavorites

The Good Stuff!

Today’s favorite has been a long-time staple in my house, despite recalls, “prohibition”, and formula changes.  If this deliciousness is also a favorite of yours, you already know what I’m talking about.  For those of you not in the know, let me introduce you to my best friend kombucha.

To be specific, this is GT’S Synergy Kombucha, preferably in the Trilogy or Gingerberry flavors.  (The ones on the outside in the photo.)  For the longest time, these fizzy, fermented, concoctions with the unique sweet/tangy appeal made my belly feel so good and kept me energized all day long.  But then, oh then…. You see,  a while back it was discovered that because this drink continues to ferment in the bottles, alcohol levels may go ever-so-slightly above the .5% allowed by law.  RECALL.  Then, (even worse in my book) reformulation.  What we ended up with was their “Enlightened” version. It supposedly contained the same probiotics and enzyme goodness, but ask any die-hard fan and we’ll tell ya it just wasn’t the same.  It was like a flat, watered-down version of our beloved elixir, and it was depressing. So, when I saw this sign at my local store yesterday, I jumped for joy!

Best sign EVER

As silly as it is to show my ID (not that I really get carded in my old age, sigh) for something that MAY have .6% alcohol, I will gladly do it for the original formulation!  I had two bottles yesterday and my bubbly one-a-day habit is back on track.  Simply put?  I feel like my old self again.  🙂   Any healthy products YOU’RE addicted to?

-Sky

Leave a Reply

