Skip to content
February 27, 2011 / veganfavorites

Birthday Bonanza

Yesterday was my birthday, and because my Mom is awesome, she babysat for us overnight, which meant a whole afternoon and night of doing whatever I wanted! I’ve been sick, but even though I wasn’t feeling well, I wanted to take advantage. I started my afternoon by going to Grasshopper Vegan Chinese food restaurant. It is SO good. I didn’t have my camera, so I don’t have any pictures, but you can trust me, it is yummy. If you are in the Boston area, I suggest trying it. We then went to Whole Foods so I could get my slice of birthday cake. I got the carrot cake from Cafe Indigo, it delicious. WF carries it regularly along with a chocolate chip cookie bar that is also yummy! They used to carry the lemon poppy seed cake, which was my favorite also, but they don’t anymore 😦   I decided that after an afternoon of errands, figuring we had a lot of leftovers for dinner, we would just come home and relax. Since I’m the Mom of a nine month old, it’s not something I get to do ever, and since I wasn’t feeling well, and it’s my birthday, I figured it was allowed. So that’s exactly what we did. We sat and caught up on the previous season of Dexter and it was so nice to just relax. If only I didn’t feel crappy and could sleep, it would have been perfect! After a night without having to wake up multiple times for the baby, but waking up anyway(blah), I was craving pancakes for breakfast.  I turned to my old favorite Joy of Vegan Baking for her yummy pancake recipe that is a staple in my house. I usually add to it, and this morning was no exception. I made Elvis pancakes today.  I put peanut butter in the batter and added bananas to them while cooking.

Elvis birthday weekend pancakes.

I like to toss my bananas on the griddle with the maple syrup to warm it all up before topping my pancakes. They were delicious! We went to pick up M at my Moms and she had a great gift waiting for me.  She got me the wallet I wanted from Lavishy and a new pair of kicks!  I’ll save those for my favorite on Tuesday. Stay tuned…

-Shelley

Leave a Reply

