Skip to content
March 7, 2011 / veganfavorites

Sweetness from the sunshine state!

I actually had some time this weekend to work on some baking. I tried to tweek the cinnamon roll recipe I previously published to include a few blood oranges that are in season right now. No matter what I’m baking though, it couldn’t be done without today’s favorite: Florida Crystals!

Florida Crystals, natural vegan sugar.

This sugar is my go to for all my baking needs.  It’s certified vegan, produced carbon free and the website really goes into detail about the company practices. Now only if my grocery store carried the powdered sugar!

Here are the changes I made to the cinnamon rolls: add zest of 2 oranges to the dough.  For the frosting I subbed the juice of the orange for half of the required liquid, then I used the rest of the juice for a syrup I put on the rolls before the frosting. For the syrup I added some granulated sugar to the orange juice and reduced it a bit on the stove. I would say add 2 tablespoons per cup of juice. It’s important that you stand over the pot and stir frequently. When it boils remove it from the stove top and stir to cool a bit.  Let it set up before drizzling on the rolls. Then add your frosting over the syrup.  Yum!

Blood Orange Cinnamon Rolls

-Shelley

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tenneh / Mar 7 2011 12:10 pm

    What would make a sugar non vegan?

    • veganfavorites / Mar 7 2011 2:33 pm

      Some sugar is processed through bone char (animal bones) to get it white.

  2. Tenneh / Mar 7 2011 4:09 pm

    Eww, gross. How would I find out which companies do and don’t do that?

  3. Sky / Mar 7 2011 8:46 pm

    Yay! Love that you posted about a FL product while I’m here 🙂 Those rolls look amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Out for blood! « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

