Skip to content
March 14, 2011 / veganfavorites

Spread it on Thick

Last week I told all you wonderful people about my favorite bread, but as much as I love the grains, even bread of the highest quality is nothing without something delicious to spread on it. We here at VF love the simplicity of Earth Balance, of course, but sometimes you gotta step it up a notch.  For years, my spreadable go to was peanut butter. Don’t get me wrong, I still love jelly’s best friend, but now that I’ve met peanut’s more nutritious, rich, and, well…. sophisticated, cousin, I just have to spread the word (pun intended). Allow me to introduce you to walnut butter.

Specifically I like Artisana’s raw walnut butter. It is decadently full of flavor (mixed with just enough cashews to kill the bitterness walnuts can have) and has all the omega-filled nutrition benefits of walnuts.  That’s something peanut butter just can’t claim.  I LOVE walnut butter with fig or apricot jam for a mature version of pb&j, but no matter how you spread it, your taste buds will thank you. As for me, you can thank me later…. by turning me on to your favorite spreadable in the comments!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

