Skip to content
March 15, 2011 / veganfavorites

Magic Bars!

I have been looking for a replacement for sweetened condensed milk for years. It’s good stuff for baking! I know you can make your own, but I figured a vegan version must exist and just be eluding me. Well I found it! Mimic Creme! I had never purchased it before because we have such a tight budget and it is $5 a container at WF.  Luckily, I found some at a discount for $1.50 recently and picked up a couple containers just to try out.  I opened the container and tried it in my coffee.  It was delicious, and I knew right away when I saw its consistency that I had found my substitute! It is sweet and thick and made from a blend of cashews and almonds. I immediately had to try to recreate a childhood favorite, Magic Bars (7 layer bars to some). I did it, and they were SO good!

Magic Bars made with Mimic Creme

I decided to use up a bunch of things in my pantry to make this recipe, so feel free to change things as you wish. I think the basic needs for this recipe would be a butter/crumb base and the coconut on top, everything else can probably be swapped out.

Here’s what I came up with:

Preheat oven for 350 degrees. Line a 9×13 pan with parchment and set aside.

Ingredients for crust:

1/2 cup or so melted butter (I used Earth Balance of course)

8 Vegan graham crackers- crushed

1/2 cup  flax seed meal

1 cup of quick cooking rolled oats

2 Tbs. Agave Nectar

Mix all of the ingredients above and press into your pan. Use the bottom of your measuring cup get it evenly pressed down.

I sprinkled pecans over the crust (I recommend walnuts as well), then chocolate chips, a handful of vegan marshmallows (so it was about one for every cut square) and then topped that with coconut so it covered the top evenly. Then pour 2 cups of Mimic Creme over the coconut evenly as you can. Put this in the oven and bake for 45 minutes. When you take it out of the oven the top should be slightly browned. Let them completely cool down before cutting them. If you try to cut them when they are hot they will fall apart. So resist, they are worth the wait!

Enjoy!

-Shelley

10 Comments

  1. Tenneh / Mar 16 2011 6:34 am

    Did you buy Mimic Creme on sale at Whole Foods, or did you find it someplace else for $1.50?

    • veganfavorites / Mar 16 2011 9:39 am

      I found it at a local discount store. I think it was because t expires this summer. I do think it is worth the $5.00 at WF though. It doesn’t take much to make these. You can make multiple batches to freeze with one container. Also, if you drink coffee, it would make a great Vietnamese style coffee!

  2. Tenneh / Mar 17 2011 7:23 am

    I love condensed milk in my tea, so I think I’m gonna try this product out.

  3. Tenneh / Mar 28 2011 11:11 am

    I was so excited because I found the Mimic cream at Whole Foods yesterday, but now that I’m looking back at your blog I think I bought the wrong kind (I didn’t realize there were several different types). I bought the unsweetened coffee creamer, which by itself was not sweet at all, and seperated in my tea (although maybe it was the type of tea I put it in). How disappointing…now I don’t know what to do with the rest of the container.

    • veganfavorites / Mar 28 2011 12:12 pm

      Sorry you ended up with the wrong one. Do you like cream sauce for pasta? You can use the leftover for that. blend it with a block of firm tofu salt and pepper in a blender. Pour it in a sauce pan with a crushed clove of garlic (or use garlic powder) heat it up and season as you like. If you need it a bit thinner you can add more soy milk (or whatever you have on hand) or some water. Just add a bit at a time. Pour over some fettuccine or penne with broccoli. Yummy!

  4. Tenneh / Mar 28 2011 12:16 pm

    Thanks for the idea…I’ll try that out since I hate to waste food. So what section would I find the Mimic Creme in? I found the coffee creamer in Whole Foods next to the milk alternatives, but I think the coffee creamer was the only one in that section.

    • veganfavorites / Mar 28 2011 12:23 pm

      It’s usually in the alternative milk section. They are usually next to each other. The coffee creamer is usually a smaller package. The one you want is the sweetened cream substitute. Honestly, mot of the creamer subs I have tried do separate. The one I find doesn’t is the silk I wrote about the other day.

  5. Charleybrown / Jun 20 2012 6:55 pm

    I have been wanting to make Magic Squares since I’ve not tasted them in years and have found healthier alternatives to so many recipes! Here’s a vegan suggestion for an alternative to condensed milk using only coconut milk and agave! (For those of us who don’t have access to a Whole Foods)
    http://andloveittoo.com/sweetened-condensed-milk-gluten-free-dairy-free-casein-free-refined-sugar-free-vegan/

Trackbacks

  1. My Vegan Kid turns 1! « Vegan Favorites
  2. More Birthday Fun! « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

