Skip to content
March 16, 2011 / veganfavorites

Bangin’ Bolani

Never heard of bolani?  Don’t worry – until a few months ago neither had I.  But then, as I was wandering through one of SF farmer’s markets, I overheard a vendor saying “Yup, it’s all vegan….” and before I knew it I was ingesting all varieties of this Afghani treat.

For those of you who haven’t tried bolani, they consist of a very thin flaky dough filled with some sort of veggie or lentil or potato. My favorite is the spinach, above. The bolani itself is then topped with any one of the numerous Afghan sauces.  All the bolani are vegan, but the sauces are not necessarily so, so be careful.

The sweet jalapeno sauce is my favorite for sure.  It is more warming than super hot and spicy and has just enough sugar for some sweetness to come through.  I could put this stuff on just about anything, but on bolani it is perfect.

Trust me, you have never eaten anything like this.  You should totally order some through their online storefront and try it today!

-Sky

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah Savage / Mar 16 2011 3:59 pm

    I am obsessed with pumpkin bolani! I’ll buy a package and usually end up eating the whole thing in one sitting.

  2. veganfavorites / Mar 16 2011 8:42 pm

    Mmmmm…. pumpkin. Now I must get some. And yeah, a whole package is easily devoured at once! 🙂

Leave a Reply

