Skip to content
March 23, 2011 / veganfavorites

A Nutritional Boost

There was one item that I went and got right away when I went vegan. I had heard it was great for the b12 vitamin that became hard to get when going vegan. It’s also a great addition to many recipes! Nutritional yeast packs a great nutritional boost to your meals, but it also packs a big flavor. It’s mostly used to add a “cheese” flavor to things. It does! I use it on pasta, I make sauces with it, and sprinkle it on popcorn. The possibilities are endless!

Bob's Red Mill Nutritional Yeast

Here is a quick sauce that I use nutritional yeast in:

1 Block of  firm tofu

2 Tablespoons Nutritional Yeast

Your favorite unsweetened milk substitute

salt, pepper and crushed garlic or garlic powder to taste

Put the tofu, Nutritional yeast, a couple teaspoons of the salt and pepper and a tablespoon of garlic powder in a blender to start, add about a cup of the liquid, start up the blender. Add more liquid until the desired consistency is reached. Taste and add seasoning to taste.  I like to make it a bit more liquidy then I want the end result to be because I find it thickens up when applied to the pasta, etc.

I love this sauce on whole wheat pasta tossed with broccoli. I also add tomato sauce to it to make a pink sauce that is great for eggplant “parmesan”

What are some your favorite ways to use nutritional yeast?

-Shelley

 

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Queso Love « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

