Skip to content
May 11, 2011 / veganfavorites

Maybe I’m not vegan? A big confession…

Yesterday I launched a project on Kickstarter to raise funds for a photography project I’m trying to complete. In doing so I had to really think about how my art effects my veganism.  The problem being, I still use film.  Camera film has gelatin in it. I know it is SO gross, and awful that animals are used in this way. The reason that I still use film is that I shoot on an old Hasseblad camera. I haven’t been able to afford to buy a full frame digital camera, let alone a medium format digital camera. Hasseblad also shoots in square format, in order to do that with a digital, I would have to crop my photos. I don’t do that for these projects, I’m old school and like to compose my image in the finder. Yes I suppose I could get a mask for my (nonexistent) digital viewfinder, but it’s not the same.

I’m hoping that I can raise enough to fund this project and maybe have extra to buy the digital camera I will get before starting my next project. Then I can say I’m vegan and not feel a twinge of guilt saying so. Unless of course I get the photo teaching job I’m up for that includes teaching B&W photography to high school students. Then I’m back to square one.

For me, veganism has been about not consuming anything animal based, I try my hardest to educate people on my lifestyle and brought a vegan child into the world to hopefully pass on the message.

Should I feel guilty? Do you have/consume anything that isn’t so vegan you haven’t fully given up? What are your feelings on this?

-Shelley

PS Don’t forget to enter the BIG giveaway! I noticed that we have had hundreds of views and only 11 people have entered at the time I wrote this. What’s up with that? I guess it’s better odds for the entrants!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / May 11 2011 8:45 am

    Yes, I’d say you are a Vegan. Life is about balance and reality. Based upon your needs, you make decisions which are best. If using the camera is best, then there is nothing wrong using it. If you put unrealistic restrictions on your life, that adds stress which is harmful. Enjoy life!

  2. veganfavorites / May 11 2011 1:16 pm

    Thank you.

  3. Joshua Labure / May 14 2011 1:16 am

    Being vegan isn’t about being perfect. It’s about trying to suck less. Good luck with your project!

Leave a Reply

