Skip to content
May 30, 2011 / veganfavorites

My Vegan Kid turns 1!

So Saturday was my boys birthday! I had wrote about what I was baking from, and some of what I was making, but here is the rest…

We had an awesome day!  I made so many yummy things that even the die hard meat eaters were happily full and satisfied! Here is a pic of the cupcakes and the cookies are off to the side. I made both the vanilla and chocolate basic cupcake and my own vanilla frosting. I used vegan friendly coloring to give the swirl colors. I made the roll out cookies and peanut butter pillows from the book and then I made my own magic bars I have previously written about here.

Birthday cupcakes!

I also made cashew cheese, both plain and dill (which was also great on my bagel this morning!), and an almond cheese with a rosemary and thyme infused olive oil drizzled on top I loosely followed these recipes for the cheeses (cashew, almond). Those were great and people were asking what it was and didn’t miss the cheese one bit! I also made some Spanikopita in puff pastry, white bean and roasted garlic crostini’s, and we had chips, veggies, fresh made popcorn and fruit to munch on as well.  All in all it was fun, delicious and bittersweet. My baby is no longer a baby, but we made through a very difficult year. I look forward to seeing what my boy will become, and raising him as a compassionate and caring (and vegan) kid!  So today (and everyday) my first and foremost fave is Myles!

My Boy!

-Shelley

4 Comments

  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / May 31 2011 5:45 am

    Happy Birthday to your Son! And congratulations on the birthday spread. The cupcakes look delicious the menu sounds yummy. Wishing you and your family many more wonderful celebrations.

Trackbacks

  1. More Birthday Fun! « Vegan Favorites
  2. Happy Baby = Happy Mom « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

