Skip to content
June 29, 2011 / veganfavorites

I’m a Real Sourpuss

Ok, so I know that on Monday I promised to tell you all about my favorite vegan cheese.  But, (DUH) I realized I had totally blogged about it already.  Apologies for the brain malfunction!  However, this train of thought has prompted me to write about another dairy replacement that’s a big time favorite of mine:  Tofutti Sour Cream.

In particular I am talking about their non-hydrogenated sour cream.  I haven’t tried its evil twin over in hyrdogenated land, but I can tell you that this version is smooth, creamy, and delicious. With just the right amount of tang, it works well in sauces, in Mexican fare like burritos, and dolloped on tomato soup.  However, my favorite way to use it is as the base for sour cream and onion dip.  SC&O dip was arguably my favorite pre-vegan dairy, and the only way I would consume vegetables for much of my childhood was to dip away.  Now I just mix this Tofutti wonder with a pre-made spice packet and I’m good to go.  In fact, that will be my contribution to this year’s 4th of July BBQ, along with the standard veggie burgers, of course.

You should try it too.  Go get dipping!

-Sky

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jennifer / Jul 1 2011 1:43 pm

    I love this too and one way I use it is to add Uncle Dan’s classic Ranch powder (it’s vegan) to it. I don’t use the whole packet because it would be too strong. So if you try, just add some and mix it up and do a taste test until it reaches the flavor you want. Yum! Also, I sometimes put the sourcream/ranch on baked potatoes. Very very good!

    • veganfavorites / Jul 2 2011 2:58 pm

      Nice! I’ll have to look for Uncle Dan’s – and I can’t believe I forgot to mention the baked potato usage. Of course sour cream and baked potatoes are perfect together! 🙂 -Sky

Trackbacks

  1. Easy Holiday Entertaining « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

