Skip to content
July 11, 2011 / veganfavorites

It’s a Lightlife Kind of Week

Happy Monday everyone!  Hope you had a nice weekend.  We here at VF certainly did!  That’s because the kind people at Lightlife sent us a whole slew of products to taste and review.  Don’t worry, you latent conspiracy theorists, we won’t be saying nice things just because the food was free.  All week you’ll be getting our real and unbiased opinions, and on Friday you will be rewarded with an awesome contest.  Let’s get started, shall we?

The first product I tried was Lightlife’s Smart Links Breakfast Sausage.  For the first meal of the day, I am normally a patty sausage kind of gal since those make for easier breakfast sandwich assembly.  Shape aside, these were really delicious! Nice authentic sausage flavor and texture, and I love that they get browned and crispy on the outside.  Perfect as a side to pancakes.  After all, the best part about breakfast sausage is dragging it through some maple syrup!  Yum!

Up next was the Smart Chili.  This one I wasn’t that fond of.  The taste was good, but I’m just not a big fan of textured soy protein.  I prefer a chili that is mostly beans and veggies.  Smart Chili has both of those, but the soy protein is in much greater abundance.  That being said, it’s a quick easy meal that goes from pouch to mouth in no time.  If I were to eat it again I’d probably add some carrots or other veggies and serve it over rice.  If you’re into the protein thing, you’d probably really like this as it honestly does taste good.  Just not my thing.

I’ll be back on Wednesday with two more products, but Shelley has 4 of her own to tell you about, so come back tomorrow for more Lightlife updates… and like I said, contest on Friday folks.  Stay tuned!

-Sky

4 Comments

  1. Tenneh / Jul 11 2011 12:37 pm

    I’m actually not fond of their breakfast sausage at all. I think it’s more that the texture is off, not so much the flavor. But I actually just finished off the last LightLife veggie hot dog for lunch, and those were really yummy…especially topped with ketchup, mustard and relish. I’m going to be purchasing more today for my cousin (whose a vegetarian) for when we go camping this month. I have also tried there ground veggie crumble, which is great. I made chili with it, tacos, and Shepard’s pie. I have also purchased their Gimmie Lean Ground Beef Style Veggie Protein several times and made Swedish Meatballs with it. Yummy! I’m curious to see what other products the two of you will be tasting this week, and what you think of them.

  2. Tenneh / Jul 11 2011 2:45 pm

    Oh and I also had their veggie bacon which I was not a fan of. Again, the texture was off.

  3. veganfavorites / Jul 11 2011 2:53 pm

    Thanks for your reviews Tenneh! We will be discussing some of what you mentioned and more. 🙂 You’ll have to check back…. and don’t miss the contest Friday! -Sky

Trackbacks

  1. It’s a Club For Me! « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

