Skip to content
July 12, 2011 / veganfavorites

It’s a Club For Me!

As Sky mentioned yesterday, Lightlife was kind enough to offer us some products to review. I had already mentioned them as a favorite in the past, but I figured, what the heck!  I took the opportunity to try things I would normally not buy in the store, and a couple things I already do. I got sent 4 goodies and I’ll tell you about two of them here.

One of my favorite things to eat in vegan restaurants is an un-turkey club. So I decided to make my own version with the Lightlife  Roast Turkey style slices and the Tempeh Bacon.  I already buy the slices for sandwiches, and I had tried the tempeh before. Here is what I came up with:

I used avocado and tempeh for one layer and then the turkey slices and lettuce for the other. Most people would add tomatoes, but I’m the crazy vegan that doesn’t really eat tomatoes, so avocado it is!  I have to say, this sandwich really hit the spot!  I really like the un-turkey slices and welcome them as a change from the PB&J that usually graces my lunchtime sandwich.  I liked the tempeh bacon in the sandwich. I’m not usually a fan of smokey things, and this has that smoke in abundance.  I probably wouldn’t eat it alone, and used just a couple slices cut on the sandwich so it wouldn’t be to heavy. Paired with the avocado, it was perfection with the slices though! I’m not sure I would buy the Fakin’ bacon to use on a regular basis, but I could see someone who likes a smokey strip of tempeh pairing some with pancakes or tofu scramble for breakfast!

Thinking of ways to use my other goodies. I’ll be back to tell you about them on Thursday, and we have a contest coming on Friday so that you can try some of Lightlife’s offerings!

-Shelley

Leave a Reply

