Skip to content
July 14, 2011 / veganfavorites

Dinner in 20 minutes!

Continuing in our reviews of Lightlife products that they so generously sent us, I used my sausage ground in the same way Sky used her regular ground yesterday! I had already made dinner before reading her post, so you’re getting a double dose! This time though I’m using the sausage as a way to spice up my jarred tomato sauce and tossing it in with some whole wheat shell pasta.

I used 1/2 of the “roll” of sausage and put it in my pot, while it was cooking, smashed it with my wooden spoon.  It breaks up easily once it is cooking. When it starts to cook up I added a jar of my favorite tomato sauce and let it simmer for about ten minute. Add to my cooked whole wheat shells and viola! Dinner in 20 minutes! You really can’t get better than that. Serve with a quick mixed green salad you made while it was simmering and you have an easy and balanced dinner.  The sausage adds a bit of a kick to the sauce, which was really yummy. I have had this sausage in the regular patty form and liked it, but I really liked this addition to the pasta. I also think it would be great if you add some peppers and onions and make it a sub or add it to your favorite mac and “cheese” sauce.

All in all I think Lightlife week was a good one. I didn’t dislike anything I tried, and I really liked the sandwich I made, I’ll definitely be making that again.  I actually have the flax tempeh to try still. I have an idea for it, but won’t get to it this week, so into the freezer it goes. I’ll get it out soon though 🙂

Stay tuned for our Lightlife contest tomorrow. It should be a fun one!

-Shelley

Leave a Reply

