Skip to content
July 29, 2011 / veganfavorites

Ch ch ch Chia!

Remember those catchy commercials for Chia Pets?  Who knew back then that those tiny seeds were even edible, let alone that they would become one of my favorite ways to get a huge dose of nutrition in my diet?!  In case you haven’t heard, chia seeds are one of the best sources of Omega-3’s on the planet, and they’re super fun to eat.  That’s because they start out hard and crunchy, but if you soak them in water for a bit, they get gelatinous and kind of pop in your mouth. It’s my favorite way to start the day!

Right now I’m eating the ones from Navitas Naturals, above, but you can get these little guys from any number of sources these days.  My favorite way to eat them is the soak 1 tbs in 1 cup of vanilla almond milk for at least 30 minutes.  Then I add chopped banana and strawberries.  I normally soak them as soon as I wake up and by the time I’ve made tea, caught up on email, and stretched a bit, they’re ready.  Breakfast perfection.  Because of their soaked consistency, they also make a great egg substitute for baking.  1 tbs chia in 1/4 cup of water = 1 egg.  Hooray vegan baking!

Have you tried chia?  What’s your favorite way to eat it?

Here’s hoping you all have a great weekend, full of favorites old and new!

-Sky

4 Comments

  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / Jul 29 2011 9:50 am

    Chia seeds are awesome! I sprinkle them on almost anything I eat, along with a sprinkle of flax and hemp seeds. Perfect for sprinkling on salads. I even got my 85-year-old parents enjoying chia seeds! My dad sprinkles chia seeds on his oatmeal in the morning.
    Never knew you could use chia seeds for egg substitute; I’ve been using flax for that. Thanks for the tip!

    • SkyC / Jul 29 2011 11:24 am

      So you jus eat them in their uber-crunchy state. Interesting. They seem like they’d get all stuckin your teeth that way, no? I’ve always soaked them first but will have to try this sprinkling idea….. -Sky

  2. veganfavorites / Jul 29 2011 12:07 pm

    I love making chia pudding with chocolate coconut milk. So good and I don’t feel too bad about letting Myles have some!

    -Shelley

Trackbacks

  1. Cruelty Free Holiday Ideas… « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

