Skip to content
August 3, 2011 / veganfavorites

Keepin’ it simple…With some crunch!

Like I said, I’m keeping it simple today.  I know this is a fave of Sky’s as well, and she make a mean smoothie with today’s fave, but I do something a little different.  The favorite is Kale, and I make kale chips with it!

Kale is one of those super nutritious vegetables, and I always find a way to make things slightly less so.  With this recipe, it’s not so bad, I add a bit of nutrition back in with some nutritional yeast!  Try them for yourself, they are a yummy, crunchy snack, great for your picnics and bbq’s!

Kale chips:

1 head of Kale, chopped into 2″ pieces (about)

2 Tbs. of olive oil

1 tsp. nutritional yeast

1/4 tsp. of salt

Dash of pepper

Whisk everything but the kale together in a large bowl. Add your chopped Kale and toss to coat, spread out on a cookie sheet in a single layer, bake @ 375 until dry and crispy. Let them cool and enjoy!  They keep about 3 days in an airtight container.

Warning: These are addictive!

-Shelley

PS: A previous fave Global Girlfriend has a deal on Jasmere today for $14 you get $32 to spend on GG’s site. The more people that buy it, the lower the price. All the money that you spend on GG goes to a good cause, so do your holiday shopping ahead of time! I love the purse I got!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / Aug 3 2011 6:16 am

    Kale chips are so good. To mix it up, I like to add vinegar to the recipe—yum!
    My only caution, is to make sure the chips are cool before storing them in a container. If you store the chips while hot, they get soggy. (If they do get soggy, just pop the chips in the oven for a few min. and they will crisp right up.) Of course, I can’t remember when there were any kale chips left over to store! ;>)

Trackbacks

  1. Cruelty Free Holiday Ideas… « Vegan Favorites
  2. Easy Holiday Entertaining « Vegan Favorites

Leave a Reply

