Skip to content
August 31, 2011 / veganfavorites

Drool Worthy

Having just gotten back from Vida Vega Con in Portland, I’m already missing everything! The food was amazing and I’m going to do a bakery round up today. While I didn’t get everywhere, I did pretty well. With a bit of help from Whole Foods I was able to try a lot of sugary sweets. Here’s a preview of what I got to try:

That would be a pecan roll and raspberry scone from Dovetail Bakery (via Whole Foods), Whole Foods own peanut butter and jelly thumbprint cookie, one chocolate and one strawberry Mighty-O doughnut(via Whole Foods) and a pumpkin whoopie pie, peanut butter fudge and a chocolate hazelnut crunch bar from Back to Eden Bakery. I also had to go to Voodoo, because when else would I get to try these doughnuts?

I’ll start with the doughnuts. I purchased about 5 doughnuts, I just couldn’t decide what I wanted and had heard so many good things about the tray of vegan doughnuts available.  In the above photo you can see the maple glazed custard filled, oreo peanut butter topped, and the chick o’ sticks doughnut.  I took one bite of each, and then proceeded to eat the whole custard filled doughnut.  I have a soft spot for my home town Boston cream pie filling and really enjoyed the vegan version in this doughnut. It had been a long time since I had tasted the gross, milk laden original, I can imagine this is almost the exact same thing, just sans cruelty. I also got to try the apple fritter as well. That was delectable. I could have had more of that one. I figured I would save the rest, but never got to eat them b/c of all the other good stuff going on this weekend.

Back to the smorgasbord of goodies at the top. I brought all of these home with me from Portland, so keep in mind, I’m reviewing day old goodies. I’ll start with the Whole Foods stuff. Their own thumbprint cookie was just ok. I wouldn’t go out of my way to get one again. If I wasn’t eating it with all these other amazing sweets, it might have been better. I didn’t actually get to Dovetail Bakery, but I bet these are a good representation of the amazing stuff you can probably get there. Both the pecan roll and the scone were delicious. I heated the pecan roll in the microwave and enjoyed it with some coffee. It was the only thing on that plate that I ate in one sitting. The scone was sweet, and had the nice crumb you expect from a good scone. The icing was a sugary finish that I enjoyed, but thought it was better as dessert, than a breakfast scone. The chocolate Mighty-O was a good cake doughnut. The strawberry (not even sure if that’s what it should have been) was really just a pink doughnut. The vanilla cake part was good, but I wasn’t wowed. I’m sure if I went to Mighty-O and had fresh doughnuts, they would have been much better. I’ll put that on the list for Seattle.

We actually got to go to Back to Eden Bakery. We went in for some soft serve ice cream (they sell Temptation) but I was sidetracked by all the pretty stuff in the bakery case. While I was eating my ice cream, I ordered a whole bunch of stuff to take home. The pumpkin whoopie pie, the peanut butter fudge, and the hazelnut fudge bar. I had a bite from each thing on that plate, all of it was good, but the fudge and whoopie pie were my hands down favorite. Those that know me understand my weakness for peanut butter, put that in fudge form and you have a winner. The best of the best though, hands down the whoopie pie. The moistest cake with just the right spice, a smooth and creamy filling adds a bit more sweet to the dessert. I would mail order these if possible, they are that good! (yes an exclamation is needed in this case). It’s probably a good thing I don’t live in Portland, I would probably have to buy all new pants.

What was your favorite baked good? Did I miss anything? For those of you not in Portland recently, where should I go to try your favorite vegan baked good?

-Shelley

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / Aug 31 2011 10:52 am

    Wow, all these treats look and sound delicious! So, happy you found some “yummy-ness” to enjoy. But, I can only look and enjoy through your blog—I’m a gluten-free, soy-free vegan.

  2. veganfavorites / Aug 31 2011 10:59 am

    We’ll have some of that too…

Leave a Reply

