Skip to content
September 8, 2011 / veganfavorites

Finally something I really didn’t like!

When we started this blog we figured that it would be a lot of our favorite things and some things we really don’t like.  Fortunately for us vegans, lots of  really good stuff exists and we have wrote about mostly that stuff. I have a tone of good things in the line to write about, but in my endless quest to find things to make my toddler for lunch I decided to try today’s un-favorite, Galaxy Vegan Rice Slices.

I know that Daiya and other vegan cheeses exist that are delicious, but I was attracted to these because they were slices. I have to send only finger foods with my son to daycare and thought that these might be good for grilled cheese and to be eaten on their own as a snack. Of course I had to do the taste testing and I made grilled cheese for myself for dinner. I also tried a piece of the cheese straight from the package. I found this cheese pretty disgusting. It was grainy in the sandwich and pretty flavorless.  The slices themselves when not melted were tasteless and had a rubbery feel to them. The one redeeming quality of these slices were that they melted in the grilled cheese.  So the next time you need a vegan cheese, don’t look here. Any suggestions of finger food for a picky toddler please let me know!

I’ll be back next week with some more yummy things I discovered in Portland!

-Shelley

5 Comments

  1. The Sweetest Vegan / Sep 8 2011 10:31 am

    Neither me nor my dog will eat this stuff.

  2. veganfavorites / Sep 8 2011 10:36 am

    Not to mention, I’m pretty sure it made me super sick in the middle of the night. Threw it away!
    -Shelley

  3. Vickie / Sep 29 2011 1:52 pm

    Oh no, oh no !!!! I just bought some today ! But the one I got was a solid block rather than slices.

    I am a ‘special needs ‘ vegan. 🙂
    In addition to being vegan, I am also wheat, sugar and soy free, so my options were reduced to this one product ( apart from Daiya, which i have not sampled as yet ) so I got it. Was $ 3.59.

    I wonder if it will make me gag as well !!!!! 😉

    • veganfavorites / Sep 29 2011 6:32 pm

      Vickie, I haven’t tried the solid block, maybe it will be different? I think Daiya is so good, as do most vegans. I think that is your best bet for cheese! Also I recommend trying cashew based cheese. you can find a recipe to make your own. It’s SO good!

  4. Vickie / Sep 29 2011 6:38 pm

    Okie dokie you have sold me ! Next shopping trip I will pick up a package of the Daiya.

    I am on a very very limited ( aka : broke as a joke ) budget, so buying a pound of cashews would be beyond my means.

    My thoughts on the one from today ? Well ……did not rock my world. Had a weird sort of spongy consistancy, was it the worst thing I ever ate, no. Was it delicious, fantastic or a must have ? NOT !!!! 😉

Comments are closed.

