Skip to content
September 13, 2011 / veganfavorites

I Challenge You!

I’m a vegan (duh) but I am not so naive as to think that all of our readers are also vegan.  Maybe you are curious about a vegan lifestyle.  Maybe you’re already transitioning.  Maybe you’re a determined omnivore just looking to reduce your cruelty and environmental impact by including a few more vegan products in your life.  No matter where you are on this path, I propose to you a challenge. Go vegan for 30 days.  See how you feel.  Sound hard?  That’s why today’s favorite is very close to my heart. Meet your best friend in rising to this challenge:  Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s 30 Day Vegan Challenge.

We’ve actually blogged about Colleen’s books twice before on this blog (here and here) but this is easily my favorite of all her works to date.  It is for anyone out there who has ever considered going vegan but thought it was too hard or had questions or just couldn’t keep it up for any reason. Colleen holds your hand through everything, answering all your questions (there are things in this book that even I, a vegan for more than a decade, didn’t know!), and giving you the compassion and inspiration anyone would need when making a big transition in life.  Beyond that, it is beautiful, well-written, and proves that being vegan is, in fact, not a “challenge” at all!

-Sky

7 Comments

  1. Tenneh / Sep 14 2011 2:34 pm

    I requested this book from my library a couple of days ago. I can’t wait to see what recipes she has in there. I have to say, besides the cost of the food, I really didn’t find it difficult to be vegan at home (when I did my one week challenge). But what do you do when your significant other is a meat eater, and is also a picky eater? I really don’t feel like constantly cooking two meals.

    • veganfavorites / Sep 15 2011 5:31 pm

      I have a feeling all your questions will be answered in the book… seriously, it’s awesome. Saran ate meat for a long time in our relationship, but he was in charge of his food and I was in charge of mine. I’m nobody’s chef! 🙂 The way I see it, if it’s something that’s right for you, your significant other should support that, no? -Sky

  2. Tenneh / Sep 16 2011 7:19 am

    I feel a little differently about the situation. I enjoy cooking for other people and don’t really enjoy when I’m just cooking for myself. I also enjoy sharing cooking responsibilities. If my partner cooks meat and I’m a vegan or vegetarian, he wouldn’t expect me to eat it…the same way if I cook something without meat (which he would not enjoy eating) I can’t expect him to eat it.

    I look forward to seeing what Colleen has to say about this topic in her book.

  3. veganfavorites / Sep 16 2011 9:42 am

    I guess where I lose you is the idea that he wouldn’t enjoy what you were cooking. No omnivore I’ve cooked for has ever complained. 🙂 I mean, good vegan food is good food period. Does he really NEED meat to feel sated? Tenneh, are you living with a lion? Be honest.

    Joking aside, I can’t remember if Colleen touches on this in the book and I gave my copy away already to a veg-curious friend. In any case I know it will give you lots of food for thought and thought for food.

  4. Tenneh / Sep 16 2011 5:55 pm

    LOL! Unfortunately, not everyone is open minded. I know quite a lot of people who don’t think a meal is complete without meat and they wouldn’t go near a dish that contains tofu, soy, veggie crumbles, etc. I also know people who just aren’t that concerned with animal rights, so they don’t see anything wrong with eating meat, even if the animal has been maltreated. I even have a friend or two who wear fur. They’re entitled to their opinions, and even though I may totally disagree with them, they’re still my friends. I just don’t know how I would find balance if I began to lead a lifestyle that was so different from my friends’ and family’s.

    • veganfavorites / Sep 17 2011 4:21 pm

      It’s a tough thing to do for sure. But standing by your values is probably part of what people like about you. I certainly have friends who eat meat (though the fur thing would be a deal breaker for me) and they can do what they want. The thing is we are friends because they also allow me to do what I want. I remember when I stopped cooking meat for my husband. I thought it would be such a big deal and all he said was “Fine. I thought it was weird that you were willing to do that anyway.” Being true to yourself and your values if what makes people confident and compelling to be around and you might be surprised how much respect you get for daring to be different! -Sky

  5. Vickie / Sep 29 2011 1:48 pm

    I read it last week, was able to obtain it from the library. Had a small wait, as there were a number of reservations before mine, but got it pretty quickly.

    Terrific book, but I probably enjoyed the Kathy Freston one a bit more. Her tone is a bit more gentle and friendly, but that’s just me.

Comments are closed.

