Skip to content
September 23, 2011 / veganfavorites

Terrific Turmeric

After a trip to the podiatrist, it turns out that my foot pain is actually from an injury to the soft tissue and a possible stress fracture of a little tiny bone called the fibular sesamoid. Let me tell you, not fun. Luckily there are great all-natural ways to take care of the inflammation that comes with such an injury without having to resort to advil and the like. For example, turmeric.

Yes, this delicious, orange-hued, ingredient in Indian curries also has numerous medicinal benefits, not the least of which is being a potent anti-inflammatory. When I had a functioning juicer, I would buy raw turmeric and juice it, making a tasty apple/celery/turmeric juice.  It adds a nice warmth, not unlike ginger.  Today I just pop the pills whenever I feel a bit achey.  I like the Organic India brand (pictured), but you can get it from a wide variety of suppliers.  Next time you have inflammation (headache, swollen joints, etc.) try this before hitting the medicine cabinet.  You might be surprised at its effectiveness!

In other news, I don’t know how anti-inflammatory coffee is, but it sure tastes good!  Don’t forget to enter our contest in honor of National Coffee Day (9/29) and win yourself some So Delicious products. Have a great weekend, everyone!

-Sky

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vickie / Sep 23 2011 7:46 pm

    Thanx for the heads up !
    I have chronic lower back pain, not made any easier by my weight, turning 50 this year, and the hours I spend pounding away on my treadmill !
    I was thinking of starting Devil’s Claw, but this actually might work better.

    Vickie xx

    • veganfavorites / Sep 23 2011 8:57 pm

      I really think it will! If you do a little research you’ll see if has more benefits than just the inflammation factor too. Good luck Vickie! -Sky

  2. Vickie / Sep 27 2011 12:04 pm

    Hi Sky :
    I went ahead and decided to give the tumeric a fair trial, so I ordered 4 bottles in veggie caps yesterday from http://www.herbalproviders.com. They have very few items on sale, not a huge site like Iherb.com, but they do free shipping on orders over $ 29 and they were doing a buy one get one free on the tumeric, so I will be getting 8 bottles for $ 64, so I am pleased as punch !!!

    Thanks so much !

    • veganfavorites / Sep 27 2011 6:12 pm

      Nice work Vickie! I hope it works wonders for you. 🙂 -Sky

Leave a Reply

