Skip to content
October 4, 2011 / veganfavorites

It’s Vegan MoFo People!

This month is vegan month of food (vegan mofo!) I didn’t officially sign up for it, but I’m going to post a recipe today in solidarity.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to get veggies into my toddler without having to give him one of the pouches he loves. He had a gag reflex until he was about 1 and didn’t really eat solid food. Now he has a texture thing and doesn’t eat vegetables in chunks. What’s a vegan mom to do? Make veggie pancakes! This recipe is still a work in progress but here is a photo of them cooking on my griddle:

mmm...phone pictures...

Don’t they look yummy though? The bonus? These babies are gluten free. I had run out of whole wheat flour, so I used rice flour instead. This is still a work in progress, so if you have time, let me know what you think.

Veggie Pancakes

1 cup rice flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp of salt

mix dry ingredients in small bowl.

1 small sweet potato

1 tbsp flax meal

1/2 cup plus 3/4 cup (separated) milk (I used coconut)

1 med. banana

1/2 cup of shredded summer squash and carrot mix.

Blend cooked sweet potato and flax meal with 1/2 cup of milk in food processor. Add banana to food processor and blend some more.

Add 3/4 cup of milk to the dry ingredients, mix in puree mix of sweet potato, etc. Mix until fully incorporated. fold in carrot/squash mix.

Heat griddle and drop pancake batter on griddle, use back of spoon to make an even thin layer. I put coconut spread on the griddle for added flavor, but it is not necessary on a non-stick surface. Cook until edges start to firm up. then flip. brown on both sides.

Yum!

-Shelley

