Skip to content
October 11, 2011 / veganfavorites

Curiously Cruel? (a guest post)

Shelley took a much deserved day off yesterday, and I’m sort of doing the same today in the form of a guest post.  My aunt, not unlike a lot of people, was addicted to Altoids.  Even after going vegan in every other area of her life, she had a hard time giving up those “curiously strong” and gelatin-laden mints.  This is her story.  -Sky

       When it comes to food-shopping, I’ve always been a label-reader; even in my former omnivorous life, I felt it important to know what’s in the food I put into my body.  Veganism naturally heightened this awareness, and being fairly new to cruelty-free eating I’m amazed at how often seemingly vegan fare is needlessly bastardized by the addition of an animal ingredient.
       Such is sadly the case with one of my life staples, Altoids.  I’d always assumed them vegan until I recently read the label.  They were doing fine right up until the last ingredient, gelatin, which as we know is made from animal cartilage (including horses’ hooves… EWWW!).  Really, Altoids?  You really need that disgusting stuff to make a peppermint candy?  The horror…
       I was well into cold-turkeying my mint addiction when I spotted today’s Vegan Favorite in the checkout line at Whole Foods:
       Yes, WF’s own 365 Brand of Altoid-like peppermints which, to my utter delight, contain no gelatin and tons of strong, minty flavor!  They come in the familiar tin, have the same mouth feel (either melt slowly or crunch), and the last ingredient here is “magnesium stearate (vegetable source)” — see the full ingredient list in the attached picture.  Not exactly health food, but definitely cruelty-free.
       I’m not necessarily a Whole Foods fan, but I now stop there regularly to snag my peppermint fix.  If you’re a vegan who’s a recovering Altoid addict, I urge you to do the same.  You (and those hoof-endangered horsies) can thank me later. YAY mints that are curiously strong and cruelty-free!
-Aunt Suzy
3 Comments

  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / Oct 11 2011 9:21 am

    I too, liked the Altoid mints, and I’ve been looking for a new brand of mints since I’m now Vegan. So happy to know about the 365 mints. Although they aren’t “health food”, it’s nice to know something is available. Thanks again for continuing to teach and let us know about some awesome (and not so awesome) products. (Oh, and thank your Aunt for sharing!)

  2. veganfavorites / Oct 11 2011 5:24 pm

    I’m glad this post helped you… and Aunt Suzy is too! Here’s to fresh breath for everyone, vegans included! 🙂 Sky

  3. Becky / May 21 2014 2:38 pm

    We keep altoids on hand here at our store in case anyone needs a little minty freshness. I felt bad when one of our vegetarian staff told me about the gelatin! I was shocked! I”ll get her some 365 mints – unfortunately I can’t partake due to the corn. It’s always something!!!

Comments are closed.

