Skip to content
October 25, 2011 / veganfavorites

Cook Book Giveaway!

I had the pleasure of attending a book release party for the Spork Foods sisters’ new cook book last Friday. It was held on the very cool roof deck of the new VegNews offices, and was filled with free-flowing champagne, a dessert bar by Cinnaholic, and some of the fantastic food from the book.

Don’t those black bean mini-burgers look awesome?  Believe it or not, they tasted even better than they looked!  Want to make them?  Of course you do, so I’m here to help.  Each ticket to the book bash came with a copy of the book, and since my husband and I both went, we have an extra copy…. for you!

All you have to do to win this gorgeous book is leave a comment below with an answer to the question: Which cook book is YOUR favorite, and why?  As someone who rarely uses cook books herself, I’m interested to know which ones you all love.  I already love the Spork one, as it’s filled with beautiful pictures and delicious looking food, and I’m sure it will become a favorite of yours too!

I’ll announce the winner on Monday, which is not only Halloween, but a day that Shelley and I will be spending together in Boston.  Vegan Favorites writers unite!!!    🙂

-Sky

14 Comments

  1. Susan V / Oct 25 2011 9:00 am

    Happy Herbivore!

  2. justaudrey / Oct 25 2011 9:14 am

    I use Peas and Thank You a lot, though generally I kind of forget to use cook books. I get most of my recipe inspiration from blogs.

  3. Rhonda Sawtelle / Oct 25 2011 9:15 am

    I guess I’d have to say my favorite cookbook would be “Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food” by Alicia C. Simpson.
    It not only provides over 150 recipes, but gives ideas on what should be in a vegan pantry (including dairy-free substitutes, a grain guide, and homemade egg replacer recipe). It isn’t just “American” comfort food, but incorporates flavors from around the world.
    The recipes cover Breakfast; side dishes; soups and salads; main courses; sauces, dips and dressings; and desserts.

  4. Ashley / Oct 25 2011 10:02 am

    Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World 🙂

  5. Emily / Oct 25 2011 10:03 am

    I am devoted to Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s “Vegan Table,” (the best hummus recipe ever, and a couple of others that I go to over and over again) and I also love her newer cookbook, “Color Me Vegan”–hard to pick a favorite out of those two. They are both great, with simple but delicious recipes, great instructions, and lots and lots of information about nutrition and veganism.

  6. Marisa / Oct 25 2011 1:27 pm

    I don’t really have a favorite cookbook. I’m a college student, so most of my recipes come from offline. Does Google count as a cookbook? The cookbook you got sounds really awesome though! I bet the food is wonderful.

  7. Cori / Oct 26 2011 9:32 am

    My grandmother’s! It’s not vegan, but I have been slowly going through each recipe and changing them so they are. There’s nothing better than tradition!

  8. Victoria / Oct 27 2011 10:07 am

    I like Kim Lutz’s Welcoming Kitchen, as not only are the recipes vegan, but they are soy and wheat free for those who need to eat that way either due to allergies or other reasons/preferences.

    Also, because I am not much of a cook and her recipes are very simple to follow.

  9. melsgotocd / Oct 27 2011 10:28 am

    Is it arrogant to say that I haven’t used a cookbook in years? I still make all the same recipes from my childhood and beyond, but now I make impossibly simple substitutions and tweaks to veganize everything. That said, I pore over every one of Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s cookbooks for the sheer pleasure of enjoying her genius!

  10. Kelly / Oct 28 2011 6:44 pm

    I am a cookbook fiend. I have so many and use them ALL the time (already tried about 85 new recipes this year!). My current favorite is Appetite for Reduction because the recipes are so easy to make but really tasty too!

  11. Cynthia Amoruso / Oct 30 2011 1:23 pm

    I love Color me Vegan and The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick Goodreau. Easy to follow, delicious recipes. Recommended highly!

Trackbacks

  1. Always looking for some good information! « Vegan Favorites
  2. Fave Update: OCD « Vegan Favorites
  3. Vegan Halloween Links « Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

