Skip to content
October 26, 2011 / veganfavorites

Always looking for some good information!

If you read this blog regularly, you may have noticed that I like to be informed. In that vein, today I bring to you a new info site that I recently stumbled on. FoodFacts.com has a ton of nutritional info on some of our favorite products. I particularly like the compare feature. I could spend hours looking things up and finding all the information I can. I was actually surprised that some of the things I am eating were not as healthy as I thought (I’m looking at you Sunshine Burgers).¬† Have fun looking up everything you consume!

When you’re done with that, don’t forget to enter our giveaway for the new Spork Foods cookbook!

-Shelley

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / Oct 26 2011 6:38 am

    I think in considering food choices you have to look at all the facts and your overall diet and nutritional choices. I still consider Sunshine Burgers a VERY healthy choice. Yes, they are high in sodium, however, since I don’t add salt to my food, I don’t consider the % of sodium high for my diet.
    When I look at the nutritional value of food I consider more than just the %. For example, I look to see if they are organic, use no gmos, and vegan. I must also consider if the product is gluten-free, and soy-free.
    This site may be a good TOOL, however, I think each person has to evaluate the nutritional value of their food on an individual basis and taken into consideration their entire diet.

    • veganfavorites / Oct 26 2011 6:26 pm

      That’s true. I was just surprised at Sunshine Burgers rating because I figured since they have so few ingredients, it would be rated higher. That’s all.

      • Rhonda Sawtelle / Oct 26 2011 6:36 pm

        I really don’t think you can “rate” food in this manner and be totally accurate. For example, look at calories. One food may be lower in calories but be “empty calories” with no real nutritional value and therefore, not healthy. While another food may be higher in calories, it’s full of nutritional value.
        The same if true of fats. There are “good fats” and “bad fats”. Just because something is higher in fat, avocado for example, doesn’t mean it’s bad.
        The key is to consider the full nutritional value and the benefits, then plan a balanced healthy eating plan.

Leave a Reply

