Skip to content
January 25, 2012 / veganfavorites

Down Under Delights

I’m back!  After a week in Bali and two weeks in Australia, I am so happy to be home and sharing with you my favorite vegan things again.   I loved reading Shelley’s posts while I was away, but just couldn’t find the time to write any of my own.  I hope you’ll forgive me, dear readers.   🙂   So, of course my first fave back has to be something I discovered on my trip.  While in Australia, I learned about Anzac Day, but I forgot most of it and chose to focus simply on one small portion of the holiday… the part that involves eating cookies, of course!

Meet Anzac biscuits.  These ones from Emu Bottom Homestead were found next to the coffee maker in a few of the places we stayed, so I was happy to see that the ingredients were nothing more than flour, oats, coconut, sugar, and vegetable margarine. Oh, and wattleseed.  That’s Emu Bottom’s own spin on it, as they’re trying to use as many native Australian ingredients as possible. Not only are these authentic Australian goodness, they happen to go great with coffee too!  They are light and slightly sweet and with just the right amount of coconut (which, for me, means not a lot).  Apparently, Anzac biscuits were developed by women who wanted their  men fighting in WWI to have some hearty and delicious food.  From the Emu Bottom website:  “It was important that the biscuits and its carefully selected ingredients didn’t spoil in the long voyage, were readily available and delivered nutritionally, hence the inclusion of golden syrup and the exclusion of eggs and butter traditional used in biscuit cookery.”   Hooray for veganism via practicality!
In any case, not all Anzac biscuits are vegan, but if you want to try these, you can get them here. I’m sure shipping from AU is ridiculous though, so maybe just try a recipe and use Earth Balance instead of butter.  Go!  Eat!
-Sky
Leave a Reply

