Skip to content
February 27, 2012 / veganfavorites

You don’t know jack(fruit)…

Happy Monday, lover of all things vegan!  I had a fantastically wonderful weekend and hope you did too!  When I wasn’t dancing, wining, or dining, I was running some long-overdue errands, one of which took me to my local Walgreens.  Feeling a little peckish while scouring the aisles, I came across some new-to-me chips made from…. wait for it…. jackfruit!  While jackfruit has established itself as a wonderful animal meat substitute (jackfruit tacos, yum!), I had never seen it in chip form, so I had to try these.

This healthy snack is brought to you by a company called Green Day (warning: their site only seems to run on Firefox and even then it is incredibly slow) which is most likely from Thailand, but I can’t be sure.  In any case, the only ingredients are jackfruit and rice bran oil and they are delicious.  Slightly thicker and softer – but not by much – than a potato chip, they taste like a cross between a frito and a banana chip, at least to my palate.  See if the Walgreens near you has ’em and let me know what you think.  They’re the perfect Monday snack.  Have a good one!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

