Skip to content
March 26, 2012 / veganfavorites

“Where do you get your protein?”

If us vegans each had a dime for every time we’ve been asked this silly question, we’d all have, well at least a few dollars.  Seriously, I am pretty tired of this question, and I’m not the only one.  (For the record, the best response I’ve ever heard is Colleen Patrick Goudreau’s, which you should listen to HERE.)  Knowing that I can get plenty of protein on a plant-based diet, I never saw the need to use protein powders or shakes or other supplements, even though I am extremely active. However, I recently started up some personal training sessions, and my PT suggested an all vegan powder that I’ve since fallen in love with:

Vega One is not only chock full of protein, but it also has just about every other good thing your body needs for optimum nutrition.  Better still, it tastes great (I like the chocolate, but the berry is a close second) and keeps me full.  I drink it after I workout in the morning (sometimes using almond milk and blending in a banana or some berries) and am no longer ravenous come lunch time.

To be clear, you don’t need to worry about protein on a vegan diet, but if you’d like an extra boost of all around nutrition, protein included, Vega One is some good stuff!

-Sky

2 Comments

  1. Susan / Mar 26 2012 7:42 pm

    But it’s soooooo expensive

  2. veganfavorites / Mar 26 2012 8:35 pm

    I think it is expensive if you use it in addition to your regular meals but I mostly use it AS my breakfast, not in addition to my breakfast. It also decreases your need for supplements, which are also very expensive. I am also of the belief that if you are going to spend money on something, your health should be it! 🙂 -Sky

Comments are closed.

