Skip to content
May 7, 2012 / veganfavorites

The Vegg

Happy Monday, everyone!  We had a lovely and relaxing weekend here in SF, complete with Cinco de Mayo fun and an at-home brunch right up there with some of the best we’ve had in restaurants. Today’s fave was a large component of said brunch, helping us to make some downright delicious French toast. Meet The Vegg:

This egg substitute comes in powder form and is easily blended with water to form a liquid so closely resembling egg yolks in  taste, smell, and appearance that, frankly,  it’s a little freaky.  In fact, I would dare an omni to dip a toast point into the yellow, viscous, stuff and be able to tell the difference.  But what do I know?  I’ve been vegan a million years….    So anyway, I coated some bread in Vegg goo and slapped those babies in a hot pan.

Sizzle.  I should also add that I put cinnamon sugar into the Vegg batter.  It smelled delicious while cooking.  And then we dined:

While this was extremely tasty and brought back all sorts of childhood memories, I think I would use a drier (day old or so) bread next time, as the Veggs really made my bread choice soggy, so the French toast tended to burn before it was really done cooking throughout.  No matter though, we gobbled it and were happy.

I have another package (got them from Vegan Essestials) and I think I will add it to tofu scramble next time we have the opportunity for a leisurely breakfast at home.  If you try Veggs yourself, let me know how you rock ’em!

-Sky

4 Comments

  1. Tanisha Lane / May 7 2012 6:50 pm

    what really helps with the sogginess is mixing the vegg powder with just non dairy milk and don’t use water at all. it made it thicker and i really enjoyed it alot better and it didn’t make my bread soggy at all 🙂

    • veganfavorites / May 7 2012 7:07 pm

      yay! thanks for the info tanisha. will definitely try that next time. i’m also only going to make half the package at once as there was far too much of it! -sky

  2. Tanisha Lane / May 7 2012 9:02 pm

    oh i just make what i need at a time. so for french toast i just use 2 tsp of the vegg powder and 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk 🙂 and just store the rest of the powder in a container. i don’t want to waste any 😉

  3. veganfavorites / May 8 2012 8:18 am

    You are awesome Tanisha – thanks for sharing your recipe! If I weren’t going to Mother’s Day brunch at Millennium this weekend (lucky me!!!) I’d be making this. Thanks again!

Comments are closed.

