Skip to content
February 27, 2013 / veganfavorites

Perfect “Parm”

I admit it.  When I was a little girl, I topped my pasta with loads of cheese.  Straight from the green shaker you all know and love and into my mouth.  In fact, I’d dare say I ate more cheese than pasta by the time the meal was finished.  Like most vegans, the last thing I let go of was dairy cheese, but over the years of my veganism, great strides have been made in the world of soy, nut, and seed cheeses.  We now have melty shreds and yum-worthy spreads and wedges,  but shaker cheese was the last frontier, with most tasting like chemicals and play doh. This newbie represents a new level of shakerdom, and I’m happy to report it passes the pasta test (and pizza and salad test too!) with flying colors.

parmela

Parmela is made primarily of almonds, cashews, and nutritional yeast, and is fermented to really bring out that tangy bold flavor you want in your cheese.   Try it on everything and be prepared to be wowed.  Seriously, what are you waiting for?  Get shaking!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

