Skip to content
March 29, 2013 / veganfavorites

A Healthy 3.14

I love March 14th, for I get to combine two things I love – nerdy math stuff and food stuff – into one joyous occasion; Pi(e) Day!  This past 3.14, we celebrated with make-your-own pizza pies (more on that in a future post) and a new favorite sweet potato pie recipe from a book you need to know about:

photo (4)

Lickin’ the Beaters by Siue Moffat is chock full o’ low-fat vegan desserts that actually taste amazing,  This particular pie was so easy to make, and so flavorful (yay ginger in pies!) and I look forward to making it again and again in the future.  Secret easy crust tip:  Just mix ground up wheat and barley “nuts” cereal (I used one by Kashi but you can use the original) with some applesauce until it sticks together and you can press it into a pie pan.  Healthy and tasty and versatile, oh my!  I can promise you I won’t wait until next Pi Day to break into this book and make some more sweet treats.  Recommend you get your own copy and get baking, y’all.

-Sky

