Skip to content
April 5, 2013 / veganfavorites

Kite Hill Cheese

Hitting the shelves this week (here in SF anyway), these highly anticipated new cheeses from superstar vegan chef Tal Ronnen have finally reached my kitchen and my taste buds.  Kite Hill has released three varieties, and I tried two:

photo

The White Alder is a mild cheese that I am not in love with.  It was just kind of flavorless and had a texture that reminded me of tofu.  Not cool, especially with all the creamy and delicious cheeses on the market by the likes of Punk Rawk and Dr. Cow.  Still, this would be good spread on a seeded bread as part of a sandwich or something.

photo (1)

My favorite of the two is the Costanoas. Its paprika and fennel coating makes it just the right amount of peppery, but the texture still bugged me.  I either want creamy cheese, or hard cheese that is dense and delectable.  Both of these were  just ok.  No cheesy tang, no savory mmmms. Surprising, considering the source, so I’m hopeful that Kite Hill’s attempts get better with time.  More flavor impact please.  If you’ve tried it, let me know what you think, but I’m moving on for now.

It’s the weekend, y’all.  Keep it tasty!

-Sky

10 Comments

  1. Cadry's Kitchen / Apr 5 2013 9:01 am

    Oh, that’s too bad that you didn’t enjoy them more! I have an upcoming trip to LA planned, and I’d been looking forward to trying these cheeses at Tal’s new restaurant.

  2. veganfavorites / Apr 5 2013 11:20 am

    Maybe they’ll be better direct from the source! 🙂 Let us know once you try them….

  3. luminousvegans / Apr 5 2013 3:42 pm

    Wow, that looks so much like non-vegan cheese that I did a double take. I wish I could try some out but I’m all the way out on the east coast.

    • veganfavorites / Apr 5 2013 9:37 pm

      It’ll make its way to ya on the east coast. The big name behind it and the exclusive deal with Whole Foods they have means I bet you see it soon.

  4. Treeline Team / Apr 6 2013 1:53 pm

    You might prefer Treeline Treenut Cheese – http://www.treelinecheese.com

    • veganfavorites / Apr 6 2013 2:36 pm

      Oh my that looks good! Any locations in the SF Bay Area currently selling it?

      • Michael Schwarz / Apr 6 2013 3:11 pm

        Not yet. But it will be there in a few months. We will make an announcement about online sales this week.

  5. veganfavorites / Apr 6 2013 10:22 pm

    Great! I am looking forward to trying it. 🙂

  6. Cara Youssiem / May 17 2013 7:23 pm

    Have you tried NuttyCow NutCheeses yet?

Trackbacks

  1. Chompin’ on Chambers Lane | Vegan Favorites

Comments are closed.

