Skip to content
June 7, 2011 / veganfavorites

Phantastic Philly Phood!

As I mentioned, I had the grand pleasure of spending my birthday in Philadelphia this year.  Philly is such a vegan-friendly town and I had a hard time narrowing down the list of restaurants I wanted to try, but there’s only so much I can actually eat in one 24 hour period! I made some damn fine choices though, and thoroughly enjoyed my eating experiences and spending time with friends. My favorite for today is something every town should have: A vegan pizzeria that does pizza by the slice, sandwiches, and salads, all served up in a super-casual environment ala the omnivorous pizza joints of my past.

Welcome to Blackbird Pizzeria, people!  If you’re anywhere near Philly, it’s a must try. The slices are huge, have a perfectly crispy crust, and fresh toppings with Daiya cheese.  My “fungi” slice above was so tasty, what with its mushrooms, truffle oil, garlic, and thyme.  I loved it!  Better still?  They serve Vegan Treats cupcakes, whoopie pies, and more.  Yum!

On Thursday, I’ll tell you all about my incredible birthday dinner.  Until then, I’m looking forward to finding more new faves in the NYC area, and hope you’re finding faves wherever you are.

-Sky

4 Comments

  1. Rhonda Sawtelle / Jun 7 2011 8:44 am

    Looks good! But not sure it’s gluten-free. I’m a “gluten-free vegan” (& allergic to soy) which limits my choices at many vegan restaurants.

    But I have found a great brown rice pizza crust which tastes very good. My favorite way to enjoy pizza is to grill the veggies (whatever I have on hand) and then grill the crust for a few minutes, add the veggies, and grill until the crust is crispy… YUM.

  2. veganfavorites / Jun 7 2011 8:54 am

    Definitely not gluten-free, and not sure they have options. Sad face 😦 BUT, I love Mariposa Bakery’s gluten-free vegan crusts if you’re ever up for trying something new:
    http://www.mariposabaking.com/products/breads/pizza.html

    -Sky

  3. Rhonda Sawtelle / Jun 7 2011 9:01 am

    Thanks for the recommendation. I bookmarked their site. Will have to order some stuff from Mariposa Bakery sometime.

    • veganfavorites / Jun 7 2011 9:18 am

      Yes! Be careful though as not everything they make is vegan. Lots is, but not all. More and more folks are doing the gluten-free vegan thing though, so hopefully they’ll make the switch soon!
      -Sky

Comments are closed.